hobbyjunkie

Because crafts are like crack.

Welcome Baby Amelia! October 23, 2011

Filed under: Crochet — hobbyjunkie @ 4:31 pm

There may not be anything more dangerous than pinterest when you have new babies around. And coming from a large family, I always seem to know someone welcoming an addition to the family. Most have been boys, so when a cousin announced she would be having a little girl I was extremely excited to attempt these booties.

The pattern calls for fingering weight yarn and I wanted to crochet a matching hat. The choices on ravelry were slightly limited. Most patterns called for a heavier yarn. I love the more delicate look a fingering weight yarn gives to tiny girl clothes. I must have had a specific style in mind because I ended up selecting a hat pattern from the exact same designer just by browsing pictures on ravelry. Apparently, she and I must have very similar taste!

While nothing beats an afternoon in a local yarn shop, I have recently developed a love affair with Knitpicks. There are so many great options for great prices and it eliminates some of the impulse purchases of skeins just because they are so soft. I picked the Stroll yarn for it’s washability and gorgeous color palette. The dogwood heather is just perfect for a little girl.

Both patterns crocheted up fairly easily with minimal frogging. I am not sure I would suggest the pattern for a first timer, but I always fudge my pattern-following so that I get the general shape.

I might crochet a little large, but the booties seem a little large for a 0-3 month size. I really haven’t tried them on any actual baby feet though. I am sure they’ll get use at some point in baby Amelia’s life.

 

One Response to “Welcome Baby Amelia!”

  1. Peggy Says:

    I LOVE those booties as much as I love the hat. Adorable. Amelia should look adorable in them. Can’t wait to hear what Amanda says.


Leave a Reply

