hobbyjunkie

Because crafts are like crack.

Because I do whatever Matt Lauer tells me to do January 9, 2011

Filed under: Cooking — hobbyjunkie @ 12:00 pm

Turkey Pozole Soup

While normally not a huge Matt Lauer fan (in fact I think he might be a bit a goober in real life), I admit the NBC crew is part of my morning routine. I find Matt, Meredith, Ann, and Al to be just innocuous enough to not annoy me while I am attending to the more important tasks of getting caffeine into my system and checking Facebook. On Monday the background noise seeped into my consciousness when Matt commented the Turkey Pozole from the previous segment had been REALLY good (if very spicy) and everyone should make it. Everyone? That is a pretty resounding endorsement. I figure that Matt probably gets to sample food from lots of great chefs so the soup must be super tasty to merit such enthusiasm after a commercial break. Would Matt really risk his journalistic integrity on a mediocre soup?

With all my previous cooking experience, I only had a vague idea of what hominy is all about. I think I might have been able to purchase it for my settlers when playing Oregon Trail, because I mentally have it filed as something you might eat with hard tac and sourgham.

In fact it appears hominy is maize soaked in lye. Yum? Additionally, pozole seems to be a traditional pork and hominy soup. Double yum? But Matt would never steer me wrong, right?

Right! Holy cow, this is one tasty soup! It is very spicy, but has the kind of heat I find myself craving. This soup was so good that the husband went back for a second bowl two hours after dinner.

I tried to shop for ingredients from memory and I was not very successful. I remembered some Mexican “A”-spice. Thus I purchased Adobo paste instead of Ancho chili powder. I also forgot a fresh jalapeno. In all frankness, my palate is not sufficiently developed to taste many subtle flavors below the spice of this soup. Someone more accustomed to heat might worry more about Ancho vs. grocery store chili powder, but my tongue can’t tell the difference.

So this is the recipe that WE made and that we can vouch for. Obviously, I can’t follow a soup recipe to save my life.

Turkey pozole soup with green chilies

Adapted from Michael Lomonaco, executive chef at Porter House New York on the NBC Today Show

Ingredients

  • 1.5 pounds cooked turkey tenderloin cut into 1/2 inch cubes (any meat would be great – especially any leftover poultry)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 large onions, peeled and chopped
  • 2 red peppers, seeded and chopped
  • 2 tablespoons diced pickled jalapeno peppers
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons peeled, chopped garlic
  • 2 4 ounce cans chopped green chilies
  • 1 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon Adobo paste (just because I bought it!)
  • 2 quarts chicken broth
  • 1 28 ounce can white hominy
  • 1/4 cup roughly chopped cilantro leaves
  • 1/2 cup chopped scallions
  • Sour cream
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Saute the onions and red pepper in the olive oil in a large, heavy-bottomed pan over medium heat until lightly browned.

Add the jalapenos, chopped turkey. Season with cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper. Stir in garlic, green chilies, tomatoes and Adobo paste. Let warm through.

Stir in the chicken broth plus two cups of water. Bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to medium low and allow it to simmer, partially covered for at least one hour.

Add the drained and rinsed hominy. Cook until warmed through, about 15 minutes.

Serve with cilantro, scallions and sour cream.

 

One Response to “Because I do whatever Matt Lauer tells me to do”

  1. Peggy Says:

    Hope you will have some leftovers in the freezer for my next visit!


Leave a Reply

