hobbyjunkie

Because crafts are like crack.

Making the Rounds December 28, 2010

Filed under: Sewing — hobbyjunkie @ 6:40 pm

This is the pattern for the baby ball that is famous in my family. My friend’s daughter calls it the Casey-ball.

Click here to download the PDF of the pattern.

However, a simple pattern can be created for any size ball. I have done this demonstration with a nine-inch cake pan, but keep in mind that will make a ball with a nine-inch diameter… about the size of a basketball. I think that is a little large for a baby to easily manipulate. Ideally the ball would be between about 5 and 7 inches. I think my grandmother might have used the lid of a Cool Whip container as a template sometimes.

Begin by tracing and cutting out a circle.

Fold and cut the circle in fourths. Alternatively, you could cut the circle into fourths using a mat to divide the circle equally.

For the top pattern piece, draw or imagine a line from point to point of one of the quarter circles. Fold along this line.

Cut out the pointed oval/eye shape. You may want to use this as a template to create a pattern form that lies flat.

 

6 Responses to “Making the Rounds”

  1. George Says:

    nice post!

  2. M. Stewart Says:

    Very nicely demonstrated.
    We are in Cordele Ga tonight, 100 miles from FL.

  3. […] To print the pattern or learn how to create your own, go here. […]

  4. Angelina Says:

    Thanks so much!!!!

  5. ann Says:

    I made these years ago but I lost the pattern. Thank you! I love that I now can make them in any size.

  6. Sheri Laymon-Seymour Says:

    Hi! I am a grammy with a seven month old Ian! His great-grandmother and great-great grandmother use to make infant clutch balls. I have their old pattern but llittle directions. I was excited to find your site to help me out! Thanks for being here, I will be back. Much laughter and giggles! Sheri


Leave a Reply

